New York State Sportswriters Association   
→ Recent blogs and news
  • 7/30: Greece board rejects Athena coach again
  • 7/29: Massapequa wins sixth annual Kerr Cup
  • 7/28: NYSPHSAA summer meeting preview
  • 7/27: Greece soccer coach may get his job back
  • 7/24: NYSSWA all-state baseball team released
  • 7/23: 2013-14 NY school sports year in review
  • 7/22: Sec. 6 football kicking off at the Ralph
  • 7/17: Olympia basketball coach DeRooy dies
  • 7/16: Kingston's Gaines heading to prep school
  • 7/13: How not to revive a football program
  • → More content
  • 7/26: NYSSWA girls cross country preview

    → Rankings
    Links to the lastest on the current season's sports are available on our new rankings page.

    As always, the rankings from previous seasons can be found in our reference section.

    → Help us out
       Please consider donating
    to defray our costs.

    Help us via a PayPal payment
       Using PayPal is easy.

    → User tools

    Road To Syracuse H.S. football in New York   Ten Man Ride H.S. lacrosse in New York
    Road To Glens Falls boys H.S. basketball in N.Y.   Road To Troy girls H.S. basketball in N.Y.
    Mr. Basketball
       The "Mr. New York Basketball" award, the top honor in the sport, is presented annually to a deserving high school senior by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, which includes scholastic and collegiate coaches from across the state.

       Previous recipients of the award:

    2014 - Isaiah Whitehead (Abraham Lincoln)
    2013 - Jon Severe (Christ the King)
    2012 - Dajuan Coleman (Jamesville-DeWitt)
    2011 - Jabarie Hinds (Mount Vernon) and Achraf Yacoubou (Long Island Lutheran)

    2010 - Tobias Harris (Half Hollow Hills West)
    2009 - Brandon Triche (Jamesville-DeWitt) and Lance Stephenson (Abraham Lincoln)
    2008 - Sylven Landesberg (Holy Cross)
    2007 - Jonny Flynn (Niagara Falls)
    2006 - Jonathan Mitchell (Mount Vernon)

    2005 - Greg Paulus, (Syracuse CBA)
    2004 - Sebastian Telfair (Abraham Lincoln)
    2003 - Tyler Relph (Rochester McQuaid)
    2002 - Jason Fraser (Amityville)
    2001 - Julius Hodge (St. Raymond’s)

    2000 – Peter Mulligan (St. Raymond’s)
    1999 - Leonard Stoke (Buffalo Turner-Carroll)
    1998 - Anthony Glover (Rice)
    1997 - Elton Brand (Peekskill)
    1996 - Willie Dersch (Holy Cross)

    1995 - Stephon Marbury (Lincoln)
    1994 - Felipe Lopez (Rice)
    1993 - Danya Abrams (Hackley School)
    1992 - John Wallace (Greece Athena)
    1991 - Terrence Rencher (St. Raymond's)

    1990 - Jamal Mashburn (Cardinal Hayes)
    1989 - Kenny Anderson (Archbishop Molloy)
    1988 - Malik Sealy (Tolentine)
    1987 - Greg Koubek (Shenendehowa) and King Rice (Binghamton)
    1986 - Keith Robinson (Buffalo Grover Cleveland)

    This Site
    2012 New York State Sportswriters Association.
    All rights reserved. Contact us via e-mail.
    → User tools

    → Twitter
       We tweet often during the H.S. sports season as well as when news is happening:

    Follow the NYSSWA on Twitter